
State of California Department of Education 
 

Last Minute Memorandum        
 
 
To: STATE BOARD MEMBERS Date: July 8, 2003 

 
From: Karen Steentofte, Chief Counsel, State Board of Education 

 
Re: ITEM 9 

 
Subject NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND (NCLB) ACT: TEACHER REQUIREMENTS (“HIGHLY 

QUALIFIED TEACHER”), INCLUDING, BUT NO LIMITED TO, PROPOSED TITLE 5 
REGULATIONS 

 
Attached are proposed regulations for implementing the NCLB Teacher Requirements. The proposed 
regulations are based on the proposal adopted by the Board in concept at the June 2003 meeting with 
modifications based on CDE and Board staff ‘s consultation with staff at the United States Department of 
Education (USDE) as directed by the Board. 
 
Consultation with USDE suggested that two changes to the “adopted-in-concept proposal” were appropriate.  
First, while they understood California’s need for a limited transition period, they did not see anything in the 
law that would allow for such a transition period and advised us not to include it. Therefore the transition 
period in the “adopted-in-concept proposal” has not been included in the proposed regulations. 
 
Secondly, USDE informed us that further Guidance on “Highly Qualified Teacher” would be released in late 
July or early August and that there would be a question and answer on how one determines if a teacher is 
teaching at the elementary, middle or high school level.  USDE informed us that each State, or even each LEA, 
could make their own determination based on the curriculum taught.  For example, based on the curriculum 
taught, teachers instructing multiple subjects taught together in one class of sixth or seventh graders could be 
considered elementary in nature, while eighth grade--where Algebra, foreign languages and other subjects are 
taught separately-- could be considered middle school.  Differentiating teachers by the nature of curriculum 
taught should help school districts struggling with the NCLB Teacher Requirements in grades 6-8, and perhaps 
some alternative school programs.  The proposed regulations include a definition for "elementary, middle and 
high school" as a result of this information. 
 
Once approved by the Board, the proposed regulations will be sent out for the 45-day public comment period 
and will come back to the Board in September.  Given that further written Guidance on Title II is expected from 
USDE before September further revisions to the proposed regulations that will require another 15-day or 45-
day public review may be necessary or advisable. 
 

 
 



INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 

 
SPECIFIC PROBLEM, ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENT, OR OTHER CONDITION 
OR CIRCUMSTANCE THAT THE REGULATIONS ARE INTENDED TO ADDRESS 
 
Federal law under No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) requires that all teachers of core  
academic subjects meet the federal definition of “highly qualified teacher” no later than the end of 
the 2005-2006 school year.  Schools that receive Title I funds are currently required to hire only 
teachers that meet the federal definition of “highly qualified teacher.” Core academic subjects include 
English, reading, language arts, mathematics, science, foreign languages, civics and government,  
economics, arts, history, and geography (NCLB Section 9101). 
 
While federal law defines the requirements for “highly qualified teacher,” some details regarding 
how the definition is applied in each State must also be determined.  Existing State law and these 
proposed regulations are intended to provide the detail necessary to meet the NCLB Teacher 
Requirements in California. 
 
 
SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THE REGULATIONS 
 
The proposed regulations identify the “rigorous state test” that federal law requires each new to the 
profession elementary teacher pass, and outlines the “high objective uniform state standard 
evaluation” that can be used to qualify not new to the profession teachers as “highly qualified.”  The 
proposed regulations also define several key phrases to assist school district in complying with the 
federal law. 
 
AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 
 
Authority for these proposed regulations is found in Education Code sections 12001.  Education 
Code section 12001 is the general authority for the State Board of Education to adopt rules and 
regulations for implementing federal law in the State.  Reference for these proposed regulations is the 
federal No Child Left Behind Act (20 USC 6301 et seq.) and associated federal regulations. 
 
NECESSITY 
 
The proposed regulations are necessary to implement the requirements of the federal No Child Left 
Behind Act.  Specifically, the proposed regulations are necessary to identify the “rigorous state test” 
that federal law requires each new to the profession elementary teacher pass, and outline the “high 
objective uniform state standard evaluation” that federal law provides to qualify not new to the 
profession teachers as “highly qualified.”  The proposed regulations also define several key phrases 
to assist school districts in complying with the federal law.  These details are necessary to assist 
school districts meet the federal law and allow California to receive and retain federal funding under 
the federal Title I, Part A. 
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SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS 
 
Article 1. General 
Article 1 provides California specific definitions of key words and phrases in the federal law. 
 
Article 2.  Elementary Level Teachers 
Article 2 provides California specific details for meeting the federal requirements for ”new” and “not 
new” to the profession elementary teachers. 
 
Article 3.  Middle and High School Level Teachers 
Article 3 provides California specific details for meeting the federal requirements for ”new” and “not 
new” to the profession middle and high school teachers. 
 
Article 4.  Teachers Not Meeting NCLB Teacher Requirements 
Article 4 identifies the California permits and authorizations that would not meet the federal 
requirements. 
 
Article 5.  One Time Compliance Article  
Article 5 clarifies that compliance with the federal requirements must only be accomplished once per 
subject or grade span taught. 
 
Article 6.  Teachers from Out-of-State 
Article 6 clarifies that California will accept another State’s determination that a teacher has met the 
NCLB Teacher Requirements for a particular subject or grade span taught. 
 
 
DISCLOSURES 
 
The fiscal analysis of these proposed regulations is pending. 
 
The State Board of Education has determined that no alternative considered by the State Board or 
that has otherwise been identified and brought to the attention of the State Board, would be more 
effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed or would be as effective and 
less burdensome to the affected private persons than the proposed action. 
 
The State Board of Education has made an assessment and determined that the adoption of the 
proposed regulations will neither create nor eliminate jobs in the State of California. 
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Title 5.  EDUCATION 
Division 1.  State Department of Education 

Chapter 6. Certificated Personnel 
Subchapter 7.  No Child Left Behind Teacher Requirements 

 
   Article 1. General 
 

Add Section 6100 to read: 
§6100.  Definitions. 
    For purposes of No Child Left Behind Teacher Requirements, the following definitions shall 
apply: 
    (a) Advanced Credentialing:  A teacher who has achieved National Board Certification is 
considered to have Advanced Credentialing. 
    (b) Credential:  A Preliminary, Professional Clear or Life Credential, or any teaching 
credential issued under prior statutes, that authorizes a person to teach in California K-12 schools 
    (c) Elementary, Middle and High School:  The local educational agency shall determine, 
based on curriculum taught, by school site, or by each grade at the school site, if appropriate, 
whether a teacher is hired to teach elementary, middle or high school. 
    (d) First Day of School:  The first day of school is the first day of school that students report 
to the school per the district school calendar. 
    (e) Hired: A teacher is hired when they accept employment at the school district.  The date a 
teacher is hired is not affected by a change of assignments or schools within the district. The date 
a teacher is hired in a district does not affect a teacher’s “new” or “not new” to the profession 
status.   
    (f) Teacher New to the Profession: A teacher is new to the profession if they have graduated 
from an accredited institution of higher education and received a credential, or began an 
approved intern program, on or after July 1, 2002.  
    (g) Teacher Not New to the Profession:  A teacher is not new to the profession if they 
graduated from an accredited institution of higher education and received a credential, or were 
enrolled in, or had completed, an approved intern program before July 1, 2002.   
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Article 2.  Elementary Level Teachers 
 

Add Sections 6101 through 6104 to read: 
§ 6101.  Elementary Teachers. 
    A teacher who meets NCLB requirements at the elementary level is one who: 
    (1) Holds at least a bachelor’s degree, and 
    (2) Is currently enrolled in an approved intern program for less than three years or has a 
credential, and 
    (3) Meets the applicable requirements in section 6102 or 6103.   
§ 6102.  Elementary Teachers New to the Profession. 
    A teacher who meets the NCLB requirements and is new to the profession at the elementary 
level, in addition to having at least a bachelor’s degree and either being currently enrolled in an 
approved intern program for less than three years or holding a credential, must have passed a 
validated statewide subject matter examination certified by the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing. 
§ 6103.  Elementary Teachers Not New to the Profession.  
    A teacher who meets NCLB requirements and is not new to the profession at the elementary 
level, in addition to having at least a bachelor’s degree and either being currently enrolled in an 
approved intern program for less than three years or holding a credential, must have completed 
one of the following:  

(1) A validated statewide subject matter examination certified by the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing  

(2) In lieu of the high objective uniform state standard evaluation in subsection 3, National 
Board Certification 

 (3) A high objective uniform state standard evaluation conducted pursuant to section 6104 
and in conjunction with the teacher’s evaluation and assessment pursuant to Education Code 
section 44662, to determine the teacher’s subject matter competence in each of the academic 
subjects taught by the teacher. 

§ 6104.   High Objective Uniform State Standard Evaluation. 
    (a) The high objective uniform state standard evaluation shall be conducted at the time and by 
the means utilized to satisfy Education Code section 44662, except that (1) subject matter shall 
be defined as the State Academic Content Standards for the grades and subjects taught, and (2) 
competency shall be demonstrated by satisfactorily meeting standards 3 and 5.1of the California 
Standards for the Teaching Profession. The demonstration of subject matter competence shall 
include some combination of the following: 
    (1) Classroom observation,  
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    (2) Demonstration of knowledge of the appropriate grade-level and subject State Academic 
Content Standards, and 
    (3) Portfolio review of lesson plans and student work for one academic year. 
    (b) This one time demonstration of subject matter competence shall be evaluated by a person 
or persons knowledgeable in the State Academic Content Standards for the grade and subject for 
which the teacher is demonstrating competency.    
    (c) If the teacher does not satisfactorily meet standards 3 and 5.1of the California Standards 
for the Teaching Profession as part of the NCLB evaluation, then subject matter competency 
shall be demonstrated through completion of the Peer Assistance and Review Program for 
Teachers or other individualized professional development plan, pursuant to Education Code 
section 44664, aimed at assisting the teacher to meet standards 3 and 5.1of the California 
Standards for the Teaching Profession.  
 

Article 3. Middle and High School Level Teachers 
 
 Add Sections 6110 through 6112 to read: 
§ 6110.  Middle and High School Teachers. 
    A teacher who meets NCLB requirements at the middle and high school levels is one who:  
    (1) Holds at least a bachelor’s degree, and  
    (2) Is currently enrolled in an approved intern program for less than three years or has a full 
credential, and 
    (3) Meets at least one of the applicable requirements in section 6111 or 6112.  
§ 6111.  Middle and High School Teachers New to the Profession. 
    A teacher who meets NCLB requirements and is new to the profession at the middle and high 
school levels, in addition to having at least a bachelor’s degree and either being currently 
enrolled in an approved intern program for less than three years or holding a credential in the 
subject taught, must have passed or completed one of the following for every core subject 
currently assigned:  
    (1) validated statewide subject matter examination certified by the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing, 
    (2) university subject matter program approved by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing,  

(3) undergraduate major in the subject taught, 
    (4) graduate degree in the subject taught, 
    (5) coursework equivalent to undergrad major, 
    (6) advanced certification or credentialing (National Board Certification).  
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§ 6112.  Middle and High School Teachers Not New to the Profession. 
    A teacher who meets NCLB requirements and is not new to the profession at the middle and 
high school levels, in addition to having at least a bachelor’s degree and either being currently 
enrolled in an approved intern program for less than three years or holding a credential, must 
have passed or completed one of the following for every core subject currently assigned:  
    (1) A validated statewide subject matter examination certified by the Commission on 
Teacher Credentialing, 
    (2) University subject matter program approved by the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing,  
    (3) Undergraduate major in the subject taught,  
    (4) Graduate degree in the subject taught,  
    (5) Coursework equivalent to undergrad major,  
    (6) Advanced certification or credentialing (National Board Certification),  
    (7) The high objective uniform state standard evaluation pursuant to Article 2, section 6104.    
 

Article 4. Teachers Not Meeting NCLB Teacher Requirements 
 

Add Section 6115 to read: 
§ 6115.  Teachers Not Meeting NCLB Teacher Requirements. 
    A teacher does not meet the NCLB teacher requirements for the core academic subject taught 
if: 
    (1) Teaching with an Emergency Permits, or  
    (2) Teaching with a supplemental authorization (except where the supplemental authorization 
is based on a major or its equivalent in the subject taught) or a local authorizations for the subject 
taught, or 
    (3) Teaching with state or local waivers for the grade or subject taught, or  
    (4) Teaching as a pre-intern.  

 
 Article 5. One Time Compliance 
 
Add Section 6120 to read: 
§ 6120. One Time Compliance. 
    Once a school district has determined that a teacher meets the NCLB Teacher Requirements 
for the grade level and/or subject taught that teacher will not be required to demonstrate that they 
meet the requirements again for the same grade level and/or subject taught, even if they are later 
hired by another school district in California. 
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Article 6. Teachers from Out-of-State 
 
Add Section 6125 to read: 
§ 6125.  Teachers from Out-of-State. 
    Teachers who have been found to meet subject matter competency requirements of NCLB in 
another State shall also be considered to have met those requirements for that particular subject 
and/or grade span in California.  California’s credentialing reciprocity with other States is not 
affected by the requirements of NCLB. 
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